South Carolina · licensing reference

South Carolina renewal & CE rules

Cycle, continuing education, bond & insurance, and where to file — free and plain-English.

CE = Continuing Education — the training hours a board requires each renewal cycle.

Never miss a South Carolina renewal
Free deadline reminders — coming soon. Drop your email on the Renew hub to be first in line; we'll send 90 / 30 / 7-day reminders the moment tracking ships.
Get notified →

Commercial — General Contractor (Groups I-V) SC GCBoard-pending

Issuing authority: SC LLR Contractor's Licensing Board (CLB)
Renewal cycleEvery 2 years
CE requiredNone
Bond / suretySurety bond alternative to net worth/working capital, amount equal to the applicant's license-group requirement ($20,000-$350,000 depending on group). See data/state-requirements.json states.sc.licenseClasses for the full per-group table.
InsuranceNot set by Title 40 Ch. 11 licensing sections (board-pending against any separate insurance rule).
Renewal details, what you'll need & where to file
About the CE rule: No CE requirement, any group. Expires October 31 of even-numbered years.
If you miss the deadline
Not specified by the board reply — no lapse-grace figure confirmed for any SC license type. Do not display a grace-period claim until confirmed.
What you'll typically need
  • Your SC GC license / registration number
  • Current general-liability insurance certificate
  • Bond / surety on file
  • The renewal fee (confirm the current amount with the authority)
General guidance — always confirm the exact requirements with the issuing authority before paying or submitting.

Commercial — Mechanical Contractor (Groups I-V) SC MechBoard-pending

Issuing authority: SC LLR Contractor's Licensing Board (CLB)
Renewal cycleEvery 2 years
CE requiredNone
Bond / suretySurety bond alternative to net worth/working capital, amount equal to the applicant's license-group requirement ($7,000-$300,000 depending on group — a SEPARATE, lower table than General Contractors). See data/state-requirements.json states.sc.licenseClasses.
InsuranceNot set by Title 40 Ch. 11 licensing sections (board-pending against any separate insurance rule).
Renewal details, what you'll need & where to file
About the CE rule: No CE requirement, any group. Expires October 31 of odd-numbered years — the mirror-year offset from the General Contractor table.
If you miss the deadline
Not specified by the board reply — no lapse-grace figure confirmed for any SC license type. Do not display a grace-period claim until confirmed.
What you'll typically need
  • Your SC Mech license / registration number
  • Current general-liability insurance certificate
  • Bond / surety on file
  • The renewal fee (confirm the current amount with the authority)
General guidance — always confirm the exact requirements with the issuing authority before paying or submitting.

Residential Builder SC RBBoard-pending

Issuing authority: SC LLR Residential Builders Commission (RBC)
Renewal cycleEvery 2 years
CE requiredNone
Bond / suretyExecuted surety bond of not less than $15,000, or proof of financial responsibility acceptable to the Commission (§ 40-59-220).
InsuranceNot set by Title 40 Ch. 59.
Renewal details, what you'll need & where to file
About the CE rule: No CE requirement (RBC staff, confirmed 2026-06-09).
If you miss the deadline
Not specified by the board reply — no lapse-grace figure confirmed for any SC license type. Do not display a grace-period claim until confirmed.
What you'll typically need
  • Your SC RB license / registration number
  • Current general-liability insurance certificate
  • Bond / surety on file
  • The renewal fee (confirm the current amount with the authority)
General guidance — always confirm the exact requirements with the issuing authority before paying or submitting.

Residential Specialty Contractor SC RSCBoard-pending

Issuing authority: SC LLR Residential Builders Commission (RBC)
Renewal cycleEvery 2 years
CE requiredNone
Bond / suretyBond triggered when materials-and-labor cost for an individual property owner exceeds $5,000 (§ 40-59-240): $10,000 for Electrical/HVAC/Plumbing, $5,000 for specialty contractor registration (RBC staff, confirmed 2026-06-09).
InsuranceNot set by Title 40 Ch. 59.
Renewal details, what you'll need & where to file
About the CE rule: No CE requirement (RBC staff, confirmed 2026-06-09).
If you miss the deadline
Not specified by the board reply — no lapse-grace figure confirmed for any SC license type. Do not display a grace-period claim until confirmed.
What you'll typically need
  • Your SC RSC license / registration number
  • Current general-liability insurance certificate
  • Bond / surety on file
  • The renewal fee (confirm the current amount with the authority)
General guidance — always confirm the exact requirements with the issuing authority before paying or submitting.

What GC Prep knows about South Carolina — honestly

The rules on this page (cycle, CE, bond/insurance). Researched + maintained by us; updated as the boards change them. Free for everyone.
Renewal-deadline reminders if you track a license here (email + in-app at 90 / 30 / 7 days).
Auto-import of your CE — partial. South Carolina doesn't expose a public per-contractor CE feed. Pro can read your uploaded certificates and pull from select providers; coverage rolls out provider-by-provider.
Bond / insurance carrier sync — not in v1. Pro will read an uploaded COI or bond PDF and watch its expiry.
Filing on your behalf — not in v1. We pre-fill what the renewal needs; you submit it.
Rules data verified 2026-07-12 · source links checked monthly for accuracy.
GCPrepRenew